BIST Ignite Programme

Fostering multidisciplinary research among the BIST community

Please note we are updating this page. The latest information will be posted soon. 


The BIST Ignite Programme awards excellent, multidisciplinary projects within the BIST community. Every year we launch a call for BIST Ignite project proposals and select five winners that receive 20.000€ of funding to jumpstart their research collaboration throughout one year. The call is competitive and successful projects always involve new collaborations among researchers within the BIST centres, share knowledge among different scientific fields, and address novel research topics. At the end of the funding year, two projects are selected for the BIST Ignite Awards which come with an additional 50.000€ of funding to continue research.

The BIST Ignite Programme was established in 2016 to promote new multidisciplinary collaborations and support innovative projects ideas through their first stages of research, preparing them for application to external funding agencies and international success. To date, 23 projects have been funded and eight have received BIST Ignite Awards. A total of 810.000€ have been granted and more than 170 researchers have already been involved. One project has received the prestigious “la Caixa” Health Research Grant worth one million euros.

Further details can be downloaded at the following links:

BIST Ignite Programme Terms & Conditions – 2019
BIST Ignite Programme Evaluation Criteria – 2019
BIST Ignite Programme FAQs – 2019

The 2019 call for proposals is now closed. The 2020 call will open in autumn of 2020. 

Success stories

Facts and figures

Figures represent total numbers since programme’s inauguration (2016-2020)

Euros granted
Project winners
BIST Ignite Awards
Researchers involved

Contact points for further information

Each BIST centre has a contact person for further questions or clarifications about the programme and application and evaluation procedures:

CRG – Pia Cosma [+]
IBEC – Pau Gorostiza [+]
ICFO – Niek van Hulst [+]
ICIQ – Arjan Kleij [+]
ICN2 – Jose Antonio Garrido [+]
IFAE – Sebastián Grinstein [+]
IRB Barcelona – Travis Stracker [+] and Angel Nebreda [+]

2019 Ignite winners

2018 Ignite winners

2017 Ignite winners


BIST Ignite Award

BIST centres

Institutional Members of the Board of Trustees