The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology is an institution of scientific cooperation of seven top research centres committed to creating a collaborative environment of multidisciplinary scientific excellence. By fostering collaboration among members of its diverse scientific community, BIST plays a leading role in pushing the frontiers of science while becoming a global reference for training outstanding research talent.

The BIST scientific community is made up of seven CERCA research centres, each with the highest level of excellence in its area of expertise:

Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG)

Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC)

Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO)

Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ)

Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICN2)

Institute for High Energy Physics (IFAE)

Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB Barcelona)

BIST Mission

Our mission is to promote excellent research in a multidisciplinary environment. We are committed to the development and training of scientists to maximize science impact in society.

The goals of the Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology are:

1. To consolidate excellent multidisciplinary research across the BIST community.

2. To develop world class postgraduate education and training.

3. To build BIST as a stimulating and supportive working environment.

4. To boost the scientific, economic and social impact of research.

Since we believe societal challenges need to be addressed from a multidisciplinary approach, BIST aims to become an international reference in excellent research through the right combination of approaches, and to improve Catalonia’s competitive position in the global scientific context.

Institutional Members of the Board of Trustees