Two researchers from BIST centres elected 2022 Fellows of the American Physical Society

By October 24, 2022BIST, ICFO, ICN2

Prof. Sergio O. Valenzuela from ICN2 and Prof. Frank Koppens from ICFO have been named American Physical Society Fellows for 2022.

The Council of Representatives of the American Physical Society (APS) has selected ICREA Prof. Sergio O. Valenzuela, leader of the ICN2 Physics and Engineering of Nanodevices Group, and ICREA Prof. Frank Koppens, who heads the Quantum Nano-Optoelectronics Group at ICFO, to become 2022 APS Fellows.

Prof. Koppens has been selected for “pioneering work in the science and applications of 2D material optoelectronics, quantum photonics, and nano-photonics“, and Prof. Valenzuela for “seminal contributions to spin transport and spin dynamics in metals and van der Waals heterostructures, including spin-orbit-coupling phenomena and proximity effects“, and

The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognise members of the physics community who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise in physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Each year, no more than one half of one percent of the Society’s membership (excluding student members) is elected by their peers to the status of APS Fellow.

Learn more:
ICFO news
ICN2 news