BIST Colloquium Series

2020/2021 year

Lectures and discussions with international researchers, providing broad exposure to multidisciplinary research

The BIST Colloquium Series consists of lectures and discussion sessions with internationally recognised researchers, providing a broad exposure to multidisciplinary research in experimental sciences. The main aim of the Colloquia is to provide attendees direct contact with inspirational speakers and leaders, who will talk about cutting-edge challenges in contemporary research. Due to the COVID-19 pandemics, the 2020/2021 edition of the BIST Colloquium series will be held online. Attendance is open and free for anyone interested in participating.


The 2020/2021 edition of the BIST Colloquium Series will include the following prominent speakers:

Spring 2021


José Ramon Galan of ICIQ


Arnau Sebe of CRG
March 01 –


Aurelio Juste of IFAE
March 22 –


Lorenzo Albertazzi of IBEC
April 12 –


Cecilia de Carvalho Castro e Silva of ICN2
May 04 –


Núria Lopez-Bigas of IRB Barcelona
May 31 –


Ana Janic of DCEXS
June 14 –


Stefan Wieser of ICFO
July 12 –

Fall 2020


Prof. Dr. Ana Pombo
Max-Delbrück Centre for Molecular Medicine
Invited by CRG


Prof. Sarah-Maria Fendt
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Invited by IRB Barcelona
October 5 – 4:00PM-5:00PM


Prof. Dr. Dr. hc. Viola Vogel
ETH Zürich
Invited by IBEC
October 19 – 5:00PM-6:00PM


Prof. Fabrizio d’Adda
Invited by DCEXS
October 21 – 5:00PM-6:00PM


Prof. Raffaella Buonsanti
Invited by ICIQ
October 26 – 5:00PM-6:00PM


Prof. Dr. Oscar Franco
Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine
Invited by ICN2
November 2 – 5:00PM-6:00PM


Dr. Georgia Theano Papadakis
Stanford University
Invited by ICFO
November 9 – 5:00PM-6:00PM


Prof. Rogério Rosenfeld
Universidade Estadual Paulista
Invited by IFAE
November 16 – 5:00PM-6:00PM


The BIST Colloquium Series forms part of the curriculum of the BIST Master of Multidisciplinary Research in Experimental Sciences and is open to anyone interested in attending.

BIST centres

Institutional Members of the Board of Trustees