Call deadline extended until April 15th for Banco Sabadell Foundation Awards

The Banco Sabadell Foundation, a member of the BIST Board of Trustees, has announced that it will accept applications for the 2020 Banco Sabadell Foundation Awards for Biomedical Research and for Science and Engineering until April 15th, 2020 due to the difficult times we are all experiencing due to the COVID-19 epidemic.

The 2020 Banco Sabadell Foundation Awards aim to incentivize and acknowledge the work of Spanish researchers in the field of either biomedicine or science and engineering. The Award for Sciences and Engineering is in its fourth edition and the Award for Biomedical Research in its fifteenth edition this year. Both come with a 50,000 EUR prize.

Each award will be granted to a researcher with a very noteworthy curriculum in their field. Candidates must be aged under 42 as of December 31, 2019 (this may be extended up to a maximum of one year for each child if the candidate has experienced breaks in their career due to maternity leave), be of any nationality, have fulfilled a minimum of three continuous years of research work in Spain, and have centred their work in the field of science and engineering (for the Science and Engineering Award) or biomedicine and health sciences (for the Biomedical Research Award). Candidates must be recommended by someone affiliated to a university or research centre (for the Science and Engineering Award) or to a hospital, university, or research centre (for the Biomedical Research Award).

Applications must be submitted online between January 15, 2020 and April 15, 2020.

Andreu Mas-Colell, BIST President, will chair the jury of the Science and Engineering Award while Oscar Marín will chair the jury of the Biomedical Research Award. Decisions will be announced in June 2020 and will be followed by an awards ceremony.

More information can be found at the links below:

Banco Sabadell Science and Engineering Award Bases

Banco Sabadell Biomedical Research Award Bases

Link to online application

Past winners

We encourage you to read all information in detail and to nominate a worthy colleague!